Winning at skincare and top fan of home pages

Dear Friends,

As part of anthropological interest, please know that at this point in time, there is great buzz around something called as oil based cleanser. Promptly, as soon as this buzz became known, I partook of it. In my defence, the brand I follow, offered free merchandise, which sealed the deal. So, for a fluffy bow hairband and two smaller bands – apparently they are wrist bands, but I do not know how or what they are for, I became a poorer by a lot of money and gained a 75 ml tube of buttery balm.

Friends, I must say all this was very new to me who comes from the world of soap and water, but at the urging of beauty influencers switched to a gentle cleanser to protect skin barrier and maintain ph balance and other sciency things that are all the rage of the beauty world. But this oil cleanser is one up even on gentle cleansers. To cleanse, I squeeze some of it on my palm and apply it to my dry face. I spend a minute or so massaging on to my face. It smells great so I immensely enjoy it. Once, I feel satisfied about massaging enough, I then wet my palms and proceed to emulsify it.

Friends, I am now richer with the knowledge of what emulsification is because of this. It means that the oil now begins breaking and becomes a whitish liquid, a bit like foam, but not foam, because friends, a foam based cleanser is a different deal and it wouldn’t behove an oil based cleanser to behave like one. Diligently, I continue to follow the instructions, which, well, instructs that I wet my palms and emulsify until every bit of the face is emulsified.

Post this, then I have to rinse my face and voila! As per the claim, all trace of oil, impurities, make up, gunk, SPF etc etc have now vanished and I am left with squeaky clean skin that does not dry the face. Now, since I don’t really put make up, I don’t know if it is wise for me to spend all this money on these kind of products, but it feels so nice, friends. I feel luxe. Also, my skin has always been a trouble free zone. I rarely even get a whitehead, leave alone a pimple, but I have taken to it with a vengeance.

It has been more than a year now and it is for others to say if there has been any difference. For the amount of money I spend, there bloody well be, but no one has mentioned anything. Except for a dermatalogist I went to see because I had to spend money before financial year end for reimbursement and she mentioned that I had very good skin. But, friends, she was also compelled to say it becasue I asked her. Lolz, friends.

My arsenal now includes day cream, sunscreen of SPF 50+++, oil cleanser, night serum, night cream and other things that I get as freebies. These are usual sachet size samples to tempt me into spending more, but I have not put my money on eye cream etc until now, which is what I end up getting. I am suspicious of eye creams and I don’t see how they work.

Friends, my own assessment of my skin is that it is more even, tiny sun spots near my eyes that I never even knew were there until I seriously got into buying these fancy things have faded. The dermat offered to bleach them off for me, oh ho, more money, you want me to spend, no thank you. All this is already too much, but I am having so much fun feeling fancy with all this that I quite enjoy my new bed time playthings cos my night skin routine is far more fun that the day routine. I do feel my pores have become less visible and that overall, maybe, I look more brighter. And because I am using better quality stuff, my face does not look like it is swimming in oil. Hopefully, I don’t know. Let us just hope that there is some use to all this beyond the fact that I do enjoy and look forward to my night routine.

In other news, I am also now the proud owner of two badges on Facebook that designates me top fan. Of what? Ever since I gave up on finding a suitable home to buy or rent, I have channeled my sadness about it into liking all kinds of home interior photos that Facebook keeps pushing my way. A couple of weeks ago, I was startled to know that my liking has reached such epic proportions that Facebook wanted to recognize my activity by designating me top fan. It did not stop there. Today, again, I was notified by Facebook that I have become a top fan of yet another page. I was not even aware that the photos I was liking came from a page called ‘Pricey Pads’, but friends, here I am! A verified badge holder (something I badly wanted but could not get in school) on Facebook of Pricey Pads. Never mind that I am far, far, away from any kind of my own pad, leave alone one with a fancy price tag.

Good night.

Leave a comment